Bolt and Thompson named 2016 RJR Sportsman & Sportswoman of the Year

As expected, nine time Olympic gold medallist Usain Bolt and Rio Olympics double sprint champion Elaine Thompson are the RJR Sports Foundation 2016 National Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year. Both athletes received their accolades at the Awards Gala at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel on Friday night.

2016sportsman womanBolt was winning the male award for the seventh time, joining boxer Mike McCallum as the two Jamaican males with the most titles, while Thompson was winning her first crown.

Olympic sprint hurdles champion Omar McLeod was named runner-up to the Sportsman of the Year while World Short Course swimming record holder Alia Atkinson was runner-up to the Sportswoman of the Year.

Calabar High School’s outstanding prodigy Christopher Taylor won the People’s Choice Performance Award.

Login to post comments